Home Page ContentPress Releases ETSI Media Release – ETSI launches Cloud Standards Coordination

ETSI Media Release – ETSI launches Cloud Standards Coordination

by david.nunes

ETSI launches Cloud Standards Coordination

ETSI Headquarters, Sophia Antipolis, France – 13 November 2012

ETSI launches a Cloud Standards Coordination initiative, and invites stakeholders to a kick-off workshop in Cannes on 4-5 December 2012.

By 2015, the worldwide market for cloud products and services is estimated to reach between €50bn and €80bn. Already there are numerous cloud services on offer, presenting radical new business opportunities which are both disruptive and beneficial at once.

In order to address the specific challenges of cloud computing, in September 2012 the European Commission released a Communication on Cloud computing. This identifies the proliferation of standards and a lack of certainty of which standards to use as some of the key factors holding back the widespread use of cloud computing.

To this end, the European Commission has requested ETSI to coordinate with stakeholders and identify a detailed map of required standards in areas such as security, interoperability, data portability and reversibility.

ETSI is launching the Cloud Standards Coordination on 4-5 December 2012 in Cannes (France) with a number of partner organizations. A series of brainstorming sessions will enable participants to freely discuss cloud standards requirements.

ETSI is uniquely placed to perform this task, with a broad membership of over 750 organizations from Europe and beyond drawn from the telecommunications and IT industries, a global network of partner organizations, and technical committees (Cloud, Electronic Signatures and Infrastructures, Lawful Interception) producing specifications for cloud services.

The event is open to all stakeholders and registration is free. Further details are available at: www.etsi.org/csc.

About ETSI

ETSI produces globally-applicable standards for Information and Communications Technologies (ICT), including fixed, mobile, radio, converged, aeronautical, broadcast and internet technologies and is officially recognized by the European Union as a European Standards Organization. ETSI is an independent, not-for-profit association whose more than 750 member companies and organizations, drawn from 62 countries across 5 continents worldwide, determine its work programme and participate directly in its work.
For more information please visit:


Related Articles

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More