Finalists Announced for First Ever NextGen Challenge


The shortlisted entries for the first ever NextGen Challenge have today been announced by organisers NextGen Events. The awards are set to showcase the best in next generation digital access infrastructure innovation and will run alongside NextGen 11 – the UK’s leading event for Next Generation broadband activity, to be held in Bristol from 15 -17 November 2011.


Designed to give companies the opportunity to highlight achievements in developing and deploying better broadband, the awards have proved popular according to organisers.


It had been expected that three finalists would be announced in each of the three categories of the NextGen Challenge which include: Rural Leadership and Community Development, Innovative Funding and Collaborative Advantage. However, due to the sheer volume of entries received by NextGen Events, there are now five shortlisted entries in the Rural Leadership and Community Development category.


David Brunnen, NextGen Events organiser, stated: “We are delighted with the quality and number of entries in what is the first year for these awards.


“The results show that, despite the recession, many public sector organisations are playing a vital role in helping to build the infrastructure for growth and innovation.”


There has been huge innovation across the UK in terms of funding and working in partnership – particularly in rural areas – to ensure both economic growth and community development using public and private resources.


The shortlisted finalists will now be considered by an independent judging panel and the final winners will be announced on November 15 at an awards dinner at Bordeaux Quay in the heart of Bristol’s maritime area.


The awards will follow the first day of the two-day NextGen 11 event, which provides a great opportunity for delegates – particularly from the public sector – to learn from these cases and take away useful lessons for action.


“The transformation of infrastructure for high quality broadband is the most significant national utility programme since conversion from DC to AC electricity was completed in the 1950s,” added Brunnen.


“Throughout the UK investors are seeking opportunities to fund schemes that will have enduring value. Nothing illustrates that opportunity better than the new utility of Next Generation broadband access.”  


At this year’s NextGen 11 speakers will include Vice President of the European Commission, Neelie Kroes; Fibre to the Home Council Europe President, Chris Holden; former Minister of Communications Finland and Commissioner of United Nations Broadband Commission for Digital Development, Suvi Linden and Global futurist and CEO of Fast Future Research, Rohit Talwar. 



The shortlisted finalists and categories for NextGen Challenge are:


Rural Leadership and Community Development


  • NYnet Ltd
  • CPEND Broadband project
  • Lothian Broadband
  • University of Edinburgh
  • Knowle West Media Centre


Innovative Funding


  • Fibre Options
  • Clackmannanshire Council
  • Cybermoor


Collaborative Advantage


  • E2BN
  • Superfast Cornwall
  • Netadmin Systems



Full details of NextGen Challenge can be viewed at


Registration for the NextGen 11 conference and exhibition and the awards dinner can be found at:




About NextGen:

NextGen is the UK’s premier platform for knowledge transfer about digital access network investment and management. The NextGen 11 programme included four roadshows across the UK and this two day NextGen11 conference in November. This is the 4th year for the NextGen programme and delegate numbers are expected to reflect UK market growth.


NextGen is directed by Marit Hendriks and Andrew Macdonald under license from the Community Broadband Network (CBN). NG Events Ltd trading as NextGen is a not for profit initiative and is technology and supplier neutral. For more details, sponsors and supporters, see


This year’s NextGen will also play host to the first NextGen Challenge awards programme. For further information please contact Marit Hendriks at: [email protected].